GhostsofWar3

Jeffrey Leibham reviews “Ghosts of War”

****HIGHLY RECOMMENDED**** Griffin Theatre Company’s “Ghosts of War” is based on Ryan Smithson’s novel, or rather memoir, of the same name which has been adapted for the stage by Griffin’s Artistic Director William Massolia. The show, which features Sam Krey as Ryan Smithson, has been on tour since last autumn and now receives its Chicago premiere in a gripping and very well-acted production at The Den Theatre. 4 SPOTLIGHTS

“Ghosts of War” is presented in a rotating repertory with Griffin Theatre Company’s “Letters Home,” which is a companion piece that explores numerous soldier’s experiences in Iraq and Afghanistan. The Den Theatre (Stage 2B) is located at 1331 North Milwaukee Avenue, Chicago. Metered street parking is available in the neighborhood.

The show runs 70 minutes with no intermission. “Ghosts of War” Performance Schedule:
Friday, April 20 at 7:30 PM Saturday, April 21 at 7:30 PM Sunday, April 22 at 2:00 PM Monday, April 23 at 7:30 PM Friday, April 27 at 7:30 PM Saturday, April 28 at 4:00 PM Sunday, April 29 at 2:00 PM Thursday, May 3 at 7:30 PM Saturday, May 5 at 7:30 PM Sunday, May 6 at 2:00 PM

Tickets are $30 single show, $50 for both shows (when purchased together). Students, seniors and veterans $27. Group discounts are available for groups of ten or more. Tickets are currently available at www.griffintheatre.com or by calling (773) 697-3830.

Read reviews by Carol Moore and Jeffrey Leibham at www.spotlightonlake.com.